top of page

Short-period learning

This post from the Digital Learning Institute is a useful summary of the differences between micro-learning and nano- learning. It set me wondering about how short a session can be before it is no longer useful. I suppose I shouldn't be surprised that the Tik Tok generation is turning away from You Tube to find get their education in smaller chunks. And fundamentally, if that's where your learners are, we need to design our sessions to meet their needs and expecations. I do still have some reservations though. I was trying to change a light bulb on my car the other day. It had been a while and although I thought I was doing the right thing (from doing it previous times), I couldn't remove the bulb. A very quick search on You Tube got me a 5 minute video for my specific vehicle. It was easy to follow and confirmed that I was doing the right thing and just had to apply a bit more force.


So perfect for my needs and readily accessed in the moment I needed it. But how short can you go if you want to design a session on mediation, or mental health awareness? Should you control sequencing? Can a learner miss out certain sessions?


You can read the article from the Digital Learning Institute here.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blockchain - what is that?

If like me, you have heard the term 'blockchain' and not really understood what it is or how it might be used in the field of learning, there is a new OER course that might interest you. Produced by

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page