top of page

Moving online - the set up

Welcome to the blog! I thought I'd start with a simple post about moving online. Like most self-employed trainers, I was used to working from home, but most of my 'delivery' work was done on client premises or training venues. Working from home was mainly for admin, design work or the odd phone/Skype call. So, I got by with a basic set up - laptop, headset and very little else. At the start of lockdown we had to move rapidly to online delivery; mastering a range of technologies and platforms along the way.


This is what my office looks like now. It's still a work in progress, and I'll say more about '2nd generation offices' later.


  1. Multiport USB connector - needed to run the increasing number of devices that are required to run good quality, engaging sessions. Pick one that has its own power supply rather than one that takes its power from the PC/laptop.

  2. Phone - always to hand during a session in case a participant gets dropped out and then needs to dial in to the session or needs assistance to get back in.

  3. Reader - I like to have a hard copy of my Powerpoint deck so I can easily look ahead. I set my Slide Show in Powerpoint to a setting that allows me to organise other windows eg Chat, Camera etc. I also use the reader for displaying my programme notes at times.

  4. Possibly the best purchase I made over lockdown. A decent microphone. This is the Blue Yeti. It allows me to talk in a natural way and gives a more resonant tone to my voice. It's good for state control, if you are talking normally, you tend to be less anxious and 'breathy'. This particular microphone also has various settings so you can choose where it picks up signals. This means I can still have it in front of my speakers without setting up a feedback loop with that horrendous howling effect. I much prefer to talk without a headset if I am running a 3 hour session.

  5. Tablet/Sketch pad. This is the Wacom Intuos Pro, which I already had, but for online sessions something a bit smaller would be better. (Upgrade coming!). A tablet like this allows you to draw on screen, annotate your slides, direct attention or help the group make collaborative decisions. It can take a bit of practise to use, but well worth it if you want to make your sessions more engaging and interactive. You can pick up a Wacom One for about £40.

  6. Just back-up drives. Not really needed for running sessions, but backing up is always good practice!

  7. Studio light. Again just to increase the professionalism of the look and feel that the partipants experience. This set up needs improving - the light really needs a diffuser and to be a bit further away, but my first generation office is limited for space, so it will have to do for now. I can vary the intensity and the colour temperature of the light to cope with different times of the day.

  8. Good old solid state laptop, running Windows 10 and Office 365. (Have a spare that is ready to go in case of emergencies).

  9. Timer or stopwatch - always good for running online sessions. It's harder to keep engagement when working online, so sessions are generally shorter than face-to-face events, meaning good timekeeping becomes important. Good for tracking when people need to return from Breakout Rooms. Apps like Powerpoint or Adobe Connect offer add-ins so you can use an on-screen timer.

  10. The two bits of paper - one is often a rough running order so I can quickly track progress through the session. The other I use for recording notes,, actions etc. as the session progresses.

  11. Second screen - essential, in my view. This is a 24 inch screen, running with an HDMI link to the laptop. I tend to keep the camera view on my laptop and share the second screen when required. If you do use a second screen and a sketch tablet, you will need to set up the parameters of the tablet to match what area you want it to cover.

  12. This is a second computer, which I mainly use for image editing, but it also provides the potential to have a 'student view' of a session, as what they can see on screen is often very different from what the trainer/host may see. (Have a look at Adobe Connect trainer view if you get the opportunity). It will also be used for video creation and editing.

  13. External speakers. Pick ones that have good quality sound and their own power source. Some people prefer headsets, but my ears get too hot! I like the freedom that speakers provide. (You will need to check that your platform, Zoom, MS Teams etc is connected to the correct mic and speaker set up before any session).

  14. Spare screen, bluetooth keyboard and laptop. More for using when I am not in the office, but still working online. Good to have a back up too.

A few things to still to do:


Tidy all the wires or move to Bluetooth. Second generation offices will act as studios, so better lighting, sound-proofing and backgrounds will become the norm if we want to look professional. During lockdown, everyone was just happy to be working, even if online, but as we move to more blended learning approaches being the norm, the need to professionalise your service will become greater, in my opinion. So, the next investment will be a better webcam. But for now, it's good enough. Upgrading your office doesn't have to be expensive, but small investments can make a much better experience for your learners.


Finally, what you don't see.... another person, in another room, managing the back-office activities. This can be a luxury for self-employed trainers, but it is very useful if you have the extra resource. More about this later...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short-period learning

This post from the Digital Learning Institute is a useful summary of the differences between micro-learning and nano- learning. It set me wondering about how short a session can be before it is no lo

Blockchain - what is that?

If like me, you have heard the term 'blockchain' and not really understood what it is or how it might be used in the field of learning, there is a new OER course that might interest you. Produced by

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page