top of page

The new tablet

As mentioned in my previous post, I was planning to upgrade my set up by replacing my drawing tablet; moving from a Wacom Intuos Pro (Large) to a smaller Wacom One. While it lacks the functionality of the Intuos Pro, the size of the One (21x14cm) makes it much more usable for running synchronous online sessions. You can place the pad to one side and use it like you would if you were taking notes. It doesn't get in the way of your keyboard or other kit. This makes it easy to use spontaneously; to point to areas of interest, to annotate, draw quick sketches or record participants' comments as they engage with the topic in hand.


As with other Wacom devices you can set the area of screen that is covered by the pad and also how much of the pad is active. So, if you only want it to cover one monitor, and you feel more comfortable using only two thirds of the pad size (because it matches how you write), then it is possible to create settings that suit your needs. It is also possible to disable the pen buttons; something I do because it avoids unitentional clicks while drawing, which can sometimes drop you out off your presentation. It hasn't got the functionality of the Intuos (no side bar of buttons etc) but you don't need it. It works well with the Draw functions in Powerpoint, Word and Excel and also on the MS Whiteboard. It's very light and portable, and easily connected through a USB port, so good for trainers who work in a variety of locations.


One thing I have found so far, is that when sharing a whiteboard on Zoom, it seems to default to my laptop screen, rather than my preferred option of my larger, second monitor. I haven't solved this yet, so my workaround is to have to re-set the Wacom One to cover both monitors, which is not ideal and not something I want to be doing in the middle of a session.


Also, as with all Wacom products that use a pen, have some spare styli/styluses ready to hand. They do wear out, but they are easy to swap over.


So, yes, a very good change and I'm looking forward to using it on my next online sessions.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Short-period learning

This post from the Digital Learning Institute is a useful summary of the differences between micro-learning and nano- learning. It set me wondering about how short a session can be before it is no lo

Blockchain - what is that?

If like me, you have heard the term 'blockchain' and not really understood what it is or how it might be used in the field of learning, there is a new OER course that might interest you. Produced by

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page